Photo of Icelandic composer Jónas Tómasson

Sonata XII

by Jónas Tómasson

  • for bassoon and harpsichord
  • composed in 1976
  • premiered in October 2006 at TKTK Concert Series
  • in Salurinn, Kópavogur Music Hall
  • by Kristín Mjöll Jakobsdóttir and Guðrún Óskarsdóttir

Program Notes

Jónas Tómasson is one of the Icelandic composers who have paid particular attention to the bassoon. Sonata XII is composed from four dissimilar sections that form a single, incisive whole.

– Kristín Mjöll Jakobsdóttir 2015

Solo Bassoon

Bassoon Quartet

Chamber Works with Bassoon

  • Sonata III  for flute, oboe d´amore, clarinet and bassoon (1969)
  • Was this information helpful ?
  • yes   no